Club News

Albion confirm 2023/24 retained and released lists

A general view of the West Stand at The Hawthorns through the goal net

West Bromwich Albion can confirm their retained and released lists following the conclusion of the 2023/24 campaign.

Defenders Kyle Bartley and Cedric Kipré have been offered new contracts, as has midfielder Alex Mowatt.

Academy graduate goalkeeper Ted Cann has also been offered a new deal, along with fellow youngsters Reyes Cleary, Fenton Heard, Ethan Ingram, Evan Humphries, Archie Kirton, Deago Nelson and Adriel Walker.

In addition, the club have activated options to extend the contracts of striker Layton Love and defenders Josh Shaw and Reece Hall.

Alex Mowatt and Kyle Bartley arriving for a game at The Hawthorns wearing Albion tracksuits
Midfielder Alex Mowatt and defender Kyle Bartley have both been offered new contracts at The Hawthorns

Meanwhile, seven senior players will be leaving the club this summer.

Matty Phillips, who made 255 appearances, will depart after spending eight years at The Hawthorns. The 33-year-old joined the Baggies in July 2016 from QPR and went on to score 31 goals in the Premier League, Sky Bet Championship, Emirates FA Cup and Carabao Cup. 

The versatile winger played a key role in Albion’s promotion to the top flight from the second tier in 2019/20, featuring in 39 games and notching seven goals.

Phillips made 26 appearances in the Championship for Carlos Corberán’s men in 2023/24, scoring three times. His last strike came at The Hawthorns in a 3-1 victory over Hull City in early November.

Matty Phillips applauding Albion fans while wearing the home kit
Matty Phillips will be leaving Albion this summer after spending eight years at The Hawthorns

Adam Reach, Nathaniel Chalobah and Erik Pieters are also set to leave the club upon the expiration of their contracts. 

Former Sheffield Wednesday man Reach signed in the summer of 2021 and went on to play 78 matches for Albion, netting twice. 

Central midfielder Chalobah arrived in January 2023 and played 49 times for the senior side, scoring once in an Emirates FA Cup triumph at home to Aldershot Town earlier this year.

Dutchman Pieters featured 61 times in Albion colours during a two-year stint in the West Midlands, helping Corberán’s team keep 24 clean sheets.

Erik Pieters applauding Albion fans while wearing the home kit
Erik Pieters will depart Albion

Yann M’Vila is another member of the group who will be departing. The Frenchman signed on a free transfer in the middle of February and went on to play nine games for the club. 

Experienced defender Martin Kelly will leave The Hawthorns, with young striker Jovan Malcolm also exiting the Baggies having scored two goals in five first-team fixtures. 

Youngsters Jamie Andrews, Bradley Foster, Aaron Harper-Bailey, Narel Phillips, Ruben Shakpoke, Cheick Kone and Jenson Sumnall will all be on the move in the summer.

The loan deals involving attackers Mikey Johnston, Andi Weimann and Callum Marshall, as well as defender Pipa, come to an end on June 30.

Johnston signed from Celtic in January and scored seven goals in 20 appearances, while Austrian Weimann bagged twice in 13 games.

Defender Pipa featured 15 times and striker Marshall participated in three senior fixtures.

The club would like to thank all departing players for their efforts during their time at The Hawthorns and wishes them every success in the future.

Mikey Johnston on the ball for Albion wearing the home kit during a game at The Hawthorns
Mikey Johnston made a positive impact during his loan spell at The Hawthorns

Contract offered

Kyle Bartley

Cedric Kipre

Alex Mowatt

Reyes Cleary

Ethan Ingram

Ted Cann

Fenton Heard

Evan Humphries

Archie Kirton

Deago Nelson

Adriel Walker


Options activated

Layton Love

Josh Shaw

Reece Hall



Matty Phillips

Adam Reach

Nathaniel Chalobah

Erik Pieters

Yann M’Vila

Martin Kelly

Jovan Malcolm

Jamie Andrews

Bradley Foster

Aaron Harper-Bailey

Narel Phillips

Ruben Shakpoke

Cheick Kone

Jenson Sumnall


Loan spell ending

Mikey Johnston

Andi Weimann

Callum Marshall



Returning from loan and under contract

Karlan Grant

Caleb Taylor

Zac Ashworth

Mo Faal

Ronnie Hollingshead

Thank you graphic for departing players at the end of 2023/24 season Martin Kelly, Nathaniel Chalobah, Adam Reach, Jovan Malcolm, Matty Phillips, Yann M'Vila and Erik Pieters